Greenfield Lightlife Triathlon
FacebookRegister Online  
Sunday, August 2, 2020 - Greenfield, Massachusetts
Only days
until the
Greenfield Triathlon

Sponsored by:
Presented by:
Greenfield Recreation Department

Nook Burniske - #1

Since the death of Nook Burniske in 1990, the Greenfield Triathlon has annually honored a person who embodies the spirit of sportsmanship and has contributed to the Greenfield Triathlon or sports in Greenfield in a significant way. The “Nook Burniske” award has been awarded to terrific triathletes like four time champion Don Dwight and annual local favorite Cindy Mansur. Ken Kuninski who saw the talent in Patrick Bell and gave him a racing bike; crowd pleaser Lou Soquet, who you knew was finishing by the chants of “Lou, Lou, Lou!”

Organizers with can-do attitude are recognized both for their behind the scenes toil and their race-day contributions. They include, and are in no way limited to Chris Ethier who had the foresight to create and organize the first event and still does Sunday tri training for new participants; former Recreation Director, Mike Kociela who put in countless hours before and after the race … and saw the need for a committee and fresh ideas. Dan 'Mr. Can Do' Gagaris... , who spends endless days and hours behind the scenes preparing the course and doing anything and everything that needs doing; Ricky 'The Fish' Roy who manages everything swim, does race day photos and who's name is frequently next to organizing committee tasks; Bob and Deb Schilling who brought energy and organization, the web site, and that altered the race forever. These are all great people who have enriched this race and others. It is a pleasure to recognize them all.

The number 1 has been retired as an additional honor to Nook’s memory.

Nook Burniske Award Recipients
1991 Rick Roy 2006 Al Ross
1992 Marque Anthoney 2007 Chuck Adams
1993 Lou Soquet 2008 Karen Slack
1994 Cindy Mansur 2009 Irene Wood
1995 Paul Bassett 2010 Mary Ellen Perry
1996 Ken Kuninski 2011 Dr. Bob Sagor, DVM
1997 Donald Dwight 2012 Janice Bohonowicz
1998 Chris Ethier 2013 The Bell Family
1999 Becky and Steve Shattuck 2014 Marsha Martin
2000 Ken Caouette 2015 Ruth and Dick Henry, Greenfield, MA
2001 Bob Perry 2016 Peter McLean, Florence, MA
2002 Bob and Deb Schilling 2017 Claire Sagor
2003 Dan Gagaris 2018 Christa Snyder, Colrain, MA
2004 Paul Cyr-Mutty 2019 Amy Schmidt Bowse, Montague, MA
2005 Mike Kociela    
Proceeds to benefit Greenfield Recreation Department 2019 Greenfield Recreation Department